Where is the data submitted in a form saved in the database?

I am new to DHIS2. I am creating an app that accept form data. I will like to understand where the data that is submitted in a form is saved in the database as well as the api I need to call.

2 Likes

Hello @jetisco4u

The answer to your question depends on the type of data you are collecting

For aggregated data: The data is stored in the datavalue table and you can use the endpoint /api/datavalue

For Tracker type data: several tables are involved in particular: trackedEntityInstance, trackedentityattributevalue, programinstance, programstageinstance, and you also have the following endpoints /api/trackedEntityInstances, /api/enrollments , /api/events

Regards
didate

3 Likes

Thanks this will be very helpful

1 Like

Yes @didate, I agree with @jetisco4u ! Thanks! Very helpful answer! It’s easy to find the api endpoints using api/resources but then when it comes to the tables, one need to search through a very long list! Am I correct?

:slight_smile:

Yes there are many tables in the database. But if you know a little about the structure of the schema, you will see that it is easy to navigate between the tables :wink: .

2 Likes

True! :+1::+1:

In my case, I wanted to create two types of forms one that accept only aggregate number data and one that accept aggregate data as well as other survey question and images in a single event. The existing Apps cannot solve this so I have to create custom form. I just wanted to know for example,

1. Which api I need to call for each form and which table will warehouse the data.
  2. Since the second form data type covers number, string and object is it possible to capture it in one table that warehouse the data or I have to save it in multiple tables and is there existing table for this type of mixed data?