Visualizing Malaria Risk Maps to Support Decentralized Malaria Control Approach: A Digitized Micro Stratification Process Tool in the DHIS2 Platform

By @Bernard, Fortunatus Kawasa, Khalifa Munisi, Summaiya Thawer, Fabrizio Molteni, Frank Chacky, et al

Greetings! My name is Rajab Mkomwa from Tanzania, I am a Senior System Developer at the University of Dar es Salam (UDSM). Through the UDSM DHIS2 Lab, I have consulted widely in the area of Information Systems, including implementation of government systems in the Health, Social Welfare and Agricultural Sector, using the DHIS2.

I would like to invite you to my presentation during the Annual Conference session named Data triangulation (ENG - FR) planned on Wednesday 14 June, 15:30-17:00 Oslo time zone. You can go through overview of my presentation below.

Background
Despite tremendous efforts to control malaria, the disease is still resurging. WHO recommends moving from a one-size fits all approach to targeted control intervention towards elimination. Among the strategies is to utilize available surveillance data to establish transmission intensity across different geographical settings to enable data-driven, efficient, and effective intervention resource allocation. In Tanzania, the National Malaria Control Programme (NMCP) has introduced malaria transmission risk mapping (micro-stratification), which has enabled categorizing areas (up to the ward level) based on transmission levels (i.e., very low, low, moderate, or high). This is geared towards enabling a more tailored approach to malaria surveillance and control. However, the process was done manually, thus hindering the potential of utilizing the stratification information in tandem with other existing data for a comprehensive approach to analysis and planning. Hence, there is a need to incorporate the Micro-stratification approach to monitoring and planning within Tanzania’s existing Malaria Surveillance Framework.

Approach