SSO development with Azure and ADFS via Oauth2/OpenID-Connect or SAML2 or both

Hi all,

I’m new to this project, but my organization is not. I just learned today that we’re going to be setting up another instance of DHIS2 in Harare, and we need to do SSO if we’re going to have people logging in with their organizational account.

I have some knowledge in this area, and am probably pretty well equipped to help, if somebody wants to point me in the general direction of the authentication architecture.

FWIW, using LDAP binds to log in is not an option. It’s forbidden, because anybody involved in the implementation can either sniff or dump the password traffic. It’s incredibly dangerous to use LDAP authentication in an organization of more than a few people.

cheers,

-mark

1 Like

It looks like there’s already something in there that Lars Helge Øverland has been working on.

1 Like

Awesome @markjaroski! Glad to know you were willing to work with us on this :innocent:

1 Like

@Lars, do you actually need help? It looks like you’ve been active with this in the last month or so.

1 Like

More importantly, am I looking at the right code in the right place? Does DHIS have a concept of authentication modules? It seems that the LDAP stuff is in subclasses from Spring, not from DHIS, so right now I’m not so hopeful.

1 Like

Hey all, I’m still looking for a little guidance into the architecture for new authentication methods. Hand-holding should be minimal. I have about 25 years in Java, and 20 years in various types of SSO. Where I need help is the DHIS codebase.

1 Like

If you’re using the ldaps protocol isn’t that data passed over ssl?

1 Like

Yes, but that’s not the point.