Setting up DHIS2 core dev environment

I am new to the DHIS2 community, and am trying to set up a development environment so that I can (hopefully) contribute to the core project eventually.

I am following the steps on this page: Basic DHIS2 setup | DHIS2 Developer Portal

But, they are obviously out of date. I did install postgres 10.18, instead of 9.6. But, there was no mention of the requirement to install postgis prior to loading the data, for example. And the data file mentioned no longer exists.

I finally managed to get the sample data to load.

My question is… is there a better document to follow for setting up a dev environment for core? Am I going to run into other issues if I continue to work using the page listed above?

Thanks for any guidance.

Dan.

UPDATE:
I was able to follow the rest of the steps to successfully build and deploy the dhis.war file locally. I was then able to load the app in a browser and log in. So, it appears that the problematic section of the getting started document is the database section.

Also, are java 8 and tomcat 8 the correct versions to be using? I actually built and ran using java 11 without issue.

UPDATE 2:
Even though the application seemed to load fine and I was able to log in, I noticed this exception in the catalina.out file

org.postgresql.util.PSQLException: ERROR: relation “analytics_event_vbqh0ynb2wv” does not exist

I had downloaded the sample database script from 2021-09-01 from here:
https://databases.dhis2.org/

But, maybe I need to run an update script as well?

Welcome to the community @ddaley! :tada: Very pleased that you are sharing your experience, and I’m looking forward to your contributions and discussions too! :+1: