Problem in installing postgresql on ubunto

Dears,
Hope you can help me with this problem, whenever i try to adduser by typing the command sudo -u postgres createuser -SDRP username
it returns (Could not chnage the directory to “/root” : permission denied)

this is my first time installing DHIS2 and working with it, can anyone tell me what shall i do please?
Best regards

Welcome to the community @Haliz.t ! :tada:

Please share which guide you are using to perform the installation? I’m not sure you’re supposed to perform any of the installation steps directly from the ‘root’. You’d be using a user with the right authorities but probably not directly into ‘root’ please correct me if I’m wrong.

Thanks!

Dear @Gassim Thanks for welcoming me.
Actually as i said am very new to linux and its commands , so i depend on DHIS2 server installation guide for DHIs2 core version 2.38 however i can never seem to succeed and am very short on time. would be very thankful if you could show me how this works! is there any step by step guide that i can follow?
Looking forward to your reply and many thanks in advance.

1 Like

Hi Haliz.

This message does not a problem. It only shows Linux can’t change directory.

You may check users by command

compgen -u

If the command displays your new user - everything is ok and you may go on.

Alexander

1 Like

Dear @OleksandrM
Thank you very much for your reply and recommendation. the name i used for the new user is there, however when i try to create a database i face the same message stated above " could not change directory…" so is that ok, and how to know if am on the right path?
Also if i go a different way by installing DHIS2 on my windows 10 PC, will then i be able to link it to a the ubuntu server (linode space that i paid for) or not?

Hi @Haliz.t,