DHIS2 Android Implementation For Vaccine Management For The Expanded Programme on Immunization-Optimization (EPI-OPT)

My name is Chipo Chitambi. I am a Senior Strategic Information Officer working for the Center for Infectious Disease Research in Zambia (CIDRZ).

I will be presenting in the Session titled “Using Tracker across disease programs”. It will be on Monday 20 June, 14:15 - 15:30.

Below is a summary of my presentation.

Background

The Expanded Program in Immunization (EPI) is among the many programs led by the World Health Organization (WHO) that is focused on making vaccines available to all children throughout the world. In Zambia, the Expanded Program on Immunization-Optimization (EPI-OPT) program under the Ministry of Health (MOH) has been supporting immunization services across the country. The aim has been to eliminate mortality and morbidity among children against the most common vaccine-preventable diseases. This is jointly implemented by the MOH and other Implementing Partners. The Center for Infectious Disease Research in Zambia (CIDRZ) has the specific aim of improving program monitoring, data visibility and use of data for continuous improvement. However, the use of paper data collection makes it difficult to monitor and track the performance of health facilities in remote areas. There is a need for a centralized electronic data system that monitors adherence to vaccine management standards

Method