An Innovative Application in the District Health Information System (DHIS2) to Monitor the effects of COVID-19 Pandemic on the provision of Essential Health Services in Kenya

I am a medical doctor with public health experience spanning more than 20 years. I hold a PhD in Health information systems from the University of Oslo, a master’s degree in Epidemiology and a bachelor’s degree in Medicine and Surgery. I work for the Kenyan Ministry of Health in the Department of Health Information System. In addition, I work for HISP Kenya. I was actively involved in data management for the COVID-19 pandemic in Kenya. My interest is in promoting the use of data for informed decisions.

My presentation will be in the session on local innovations on Tuesday 21st June 2022 from 10.30 am to 12.00

Summary of presentation

Introduction

Public health emergencies such as the COVID-19 pandemic, which require the mobilization of the entire health system, have the propensity of constraining the delivery of essential health services. This is further compounded by the complexity of the COVID-19 control measures that can change people’s health-seeking behaviour. To monitor the effects of the pandemic on the provision of essential health services, the Ministry of Health (MoH) developed a reporting mechanism that involved the generation of reports from the District Health Information System (DHIS2). Manual generation of these reports was time-consuming and often with data quality challenges. This led to the main research question: “How can we promptly generate reports for the essential services for informed decisions?” This paper illustrates how the development of an application in DHIS2 improved the automation of reports during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Methods