Add/Update Public resources permission

Dear developers,

I’m a little confused about the term “public” regarding user permissions and I’d really appreciate any lead on this. Imagine that we have the following case:

  • User B has a role with permissions on See Pivot Table.

User A creates a table and shares it with B and set it as Public access → none

image

When User B tries to update and save that table this is the result

image

It seems that User B need to have the permission Add/ Update Public Report Table

in order to edit/share that table. From my understanding, as the table was set to Public → none I should not need to add that permission to user B.

So, what is the meaning of “Public” here? Is any shared resource considered as public even if it is shared only to a user/usergroup? Is this the expected behaviour or is it a bug? (Tested for play version 2.28. Not possible to access to 2.29 since yesterday).

Ideally, we’d rather avoid giving this permission since then all users’ tables are created with Public edit/view permissions by default.

Best,

Eric

Hi again,

I tested 2.30 version with the same outcome. Is my previous explanation clear enough? I was about reporting this in JIRA as a bug but, since I am not sure of considering it such as, I’d rather ask you in advance…

Any lead on this would be much appreciated.

Best,

Eric

image

image

···

2018-05-24 18:04 GMT+02:00 Eric Barreda Prades ericbarredap@gmail.com:

Dear developers,

I’m a little confused about the term “public” regarding user permissions and I’d really appreciate any lead on this. Imagine that we have the following case:

  • User B has a role with permissions on See Pivot Table.

User A creates a table and shares it with B and set it as Public access → none

When User B tries to update and save that table this is the result

It seems that User B need to have the permission Add/ Update Public Report Table

in order to edit/share that table. From my understanding, as the table was set to Public → none I should not need to add that permission to user B.

So, what is the meaning of “Public” here? Is any shared resource considered as public even if it is shared only to a user/usergroup? Is this the expected behaviour or is it a bug? (Tested for play version 2.28. Not possible to access to 2.29 since yesterday).

Ideally, we’d rather avoid giving this permission since then all users’ tables are created with Public edit/view permissions by default.

Best,

Eric

Hm, it is correct that for most metadata you would need to have the authorities also, but this does not really make sense for favorites, please make a JIRA issue for it, and we will have a look.

image

image

···

On Wed, May 30, 2018 at 6:31 PM, Eric Barreda Prades ericbarredap@gmail.com wrote:

Hi again,

I tested 2.30 version with the same outcome. Is my previous explanation clear enough? I was about reporting this in JIRA as a bug but, since I am not sure of considering it such as, I’d rather ask you in advance…

Any lead on this would be much appreciated.

Best,

Eric


Mailing list: https://launchpad.net/~dhis2-devs

Post to : dhis2-devs@lists.launchpad.net

Unsubscribe : https://launchpad.net/~dhis2-devs

More help : https://help.launchpad.net/ListHelp

Morten Olav Hansen

Senior Engineer, DHIS 2

University of Oslo

http://www.dhis2.org

2018-05-24 18:04 GMT+02:00 Eric Barreda Prades ericbarredap@gmail.com:

Dear developers,

I’m a little confused about the term “public” regarding user permissions and I’d really appreciate any lead on this. Imagine that we have the following case:

  • User B has a role with permissions on See Pivot Table.

User A creates a table and shares it with B and set it as Public access --> none

When User B tries to update and save that table this is the result

It seems that User B need to have the permission Add/ Update Public Report Table

in order to edit/share that table. From my understanding, as the table was set to Public --> none I should not need to add that permission to user B.

So, what is the meaning of “Public” here? Is any shared resource considered as public even if it is shared only to a user/usergroup? Is this the expected behaviour or is it a bug? (Tested for play version 2.28. Not possible to access to 2.29 since yesterday).

Ideally, we’d rather avoid giving this permission since then all users’ tables are created with Public edit/view permissions by default.

Best,

Eric

Thank you Morten! I have reported it in: https://jira.dhis2.org/browse/DHIS2-3937

image

image

···

2018-06-01 12:29 GMT+02:00 Morten Olav Hansen morten@dhis2.org:

Hm, it is correct that for most metadata you would need to have the authorities also, but this does not really make sense for favorites, please make a JIRA issue for it, and we will have a look.

Morten Olav Hansen

Senior Engineer, DHIS 2

University of Oslo

http://www.dhis2.org

On Wed, May 30, 2018 at 6:31 PM, Eric Barreda Prades ericbarredap@gmail.com wrote:

Hi again,

I tested 2.30 version with the same outcome. Is my previous explanation clear enough? I was about reporting this in JIRA as a bug but, since I am not sure of considering it such as, I’d rather ask you in advance…

Any lead on this would be much appreciated.

Best,

Eric


Mailing list: https://launchpad.net/~dhis2-devs

Post to : dhis2-devs@lists.launchpad.net

Unsubscribe : https://launchpad.net/~dhis2-devs

More help : https://help.launchpad.net/ListHelp

2018-05-24 18:04 GMT+02:00 Eric Barreda Prades ericbarredap@gmail.com:

Dear developers,

I’m a little confused about the term “public” regarding user permissions and I’d really appreciate any lead on this. Imagine that we have the following case:

  • User B has a role with permissions on See Pivot Table.

User A creates a table and shares it with B and set it as Public access → none

When User B tries to update and save that table this is the result

It seems that User B need to have the permission Add/ Update Public Report Table

in order to edit/share that table. From my understanding, as the table was set to Public → none I should not need to add that permission to user B.

So, what is the meaning of “Public” here? Is any shared resource considered as public even if it is shared only to a user/usergroup? Is this the expected behaviour or is it a bug? (Tested for play version 2.28. Not possible to access to 2.29 since yesterday).

Ideally, we’d rather avoid giving this permission since then all users’ tables are created with Public edit/view permissions by default.

Best,

Eric