Program Indicators in 2.35

Hi All, Its my first time here please excuse me if am missing out some steps/introduction before asking my question.

I have recently updated to DHIS2 2.35 and am having some unexpected behavior. I have a set of Program Indicators that calculate score for each section of my data entry form (event). Before upgrade it was working perfectly but now, as you score (each question weight 2 points), then PI seems to concatenate the scores instead of adding them. (for ex, if you score 2 pts for the 1st and 2 pts for the 2nd and 2 pts for the 3rd, the result should simply be 6. Instead the result is being 222)

If anyone has uncounted this, I will highly appreciate their help.

1 Like

Hi @Fraka1 we’re also testing out 2.35 on our side; haven’t seen what you’re talking about here, but will take a more concerted look.

Form first thoughts, feels like perhaps the upgrade turned your DEs into string values instead of integers, and thus “X” + “Y” becomes a request to put them together vs. add together. Probably what you’ve already surmised. Perhaps the DEs aggregation/format being manipulated can solve your issue though?

@Fraka1 would be great to have some screenshots with DE and indicators. Then we will try to help on what is really going on.

Sure, here are some.
(1)
image This shows how my PI looks before starting answering questions (I think its supposed to be just 0 to begin with, not 00. And sometimes when I reload it becomes 0000), Sometimes this behavior changes and instead of adding zeros after, it just concatenate.

(2)
After answering 3 questions and score 6 points (2 for each), the PI score becomes 600 instead of 6

(3)
After fully answer the whole section (8 questions), the PI becomes normal and display the real sum